Clearing Content From Your Course

print
Clearing Content for your course, unfortunately, isn’t a simple click with a clear course button.  When clearing out the content, it will require you to move through your entire course and manually remove content objects.  It’s important to note, the last thing to delete or remove items from is your grade book.  You must remove all associated items with the grade book first, quizzes, discussions, groups, assignments, etc.  You can monitor your progress by previewing your Manage Files and Manage Dates options by selecting Course Admin on the navigation menu and then Manage Files or Manage Dates.

Removing Items From Content

Select “Content” on the navigation menu.

Content option in course materials

In “Content” select Table of Contents.  In the dropdown menu for Table of Contents in the right pane, select “Delete All Modules.”  If you select the Table of Contents and delete from here, it will remove all modules.  If you wish to retain some of the modules, you will have to select only the modules you want to delete by going through each module individually.

Screen Shot 2016-08-22 at 9.56.03 AM


Removing Items From Your Assignments

In your Assignments Folder, select the items to delete from the list by checking the small box to the left of those items.  Choose the dropdown menu from “More Actions” and select delete.

Screen Shot 2016-08-22 at 11.22.09 AM


Removing Items From Your Quizzes

Similar to your Assignment deletion, select the quizzes from the list by selecting the box to the left of the quiz name. Choose the dropdown menu from “More Actions” and select delete.Screen Shot 2016-08-22 at 11.26.59 AM


Removing Forums and Topics From Discussions

From the “Discussion List” select the dropdown menu “More Actions.”  Choose delete from the dropdown menu.Screen Shot 2016-08-22 at 12.15.51 PM

Once you select delete, from the “Delete Forums and Topics” window, you have the option to Select All for deletion, or select specific ones from the list of below.

Screen Shot 2016-08-22 at 12.17.12 PM


Checking Your Clearing Progress With Manage Files and Manage Dates

From your course navigation menu, select ‘Course Admin’ and then Manage Files or Manage Dates.  In Manage Files, you can locate all files in your course.  It’s important to note, deleting from here removes the file permanently.  The file is removed from it’s association in the course and creates a broken link, but it doesn’t remove the content.  If you remove the file from it’s origin in the course and keep the file in the manage files, you can pull the file from manage files to use again later.  If you no longer have a need for the file, you can than delete it from the Manage Files page.

manage files, or manage dates

Screen Shot 2016-08-22 at 11.48.00 AM

Manage Dates

The Manage Dates tool enables you to view a list of objects in your course and edit their date availability values.  You cannot delete from the Manage Dates window, but you can preview the progress of your clearing course objects.  The more you clear from your course, the manage dates will become empty.

Screen Shot 2016-08-22 at 12.01.23 PM